Facebook and economical ARM technology

(No ratings yet)
Загрузка ... Loading ...

Few people have not heard of a site called Facebook . Now it is - one of the world's most popular social networks. And its founder, Mark Zuckerberg - a successful businessman who became a billionaire at 23.

Facebook и экономная технология ARM

There was a life not so long ago, in 2004. Originally, it was meant only for the students of the prestigious Harvard University. On the site you can create a profile, add to it the picture, add to the list of classmates, friends and communicate with them via instant messaging. Harvard students Mark appreciated the development, the project has been recognized, the incentive for further development and, ultimately, worldwide fame.

Now Zuckerberg's company is building a new data center. It will be located in the U.S. state of Oregon. On the servers of the company you plan to use microprocessors architecture ARM, not x86, as it was previously. This means that soon the ARM architecture could oust several x86 servers on the market today. For giants such as AMD and Intel, this development is fraught with multi-million dollar losses.

Supplier of microprocessors will be the company Smooth-Stone . The financing of its activities are involved, in particular, Arm Holdings and Texas Instruments.

The main advantage of microprocessor architecture ARM - relatively low power consumption. Apparently, that's why the leadership of Facebook and decided on these changes. To save and electricity, and the company's budget. Otherwise, the replacement of x86 microprocessors ARM technology would be meaningless.

And how ordinary bloggers are trying to save system resources of servers? Share your ideas and best practices?

Last modified: 10/08/2013 at 08:42
Published: Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 19:37
Choose the language:

Have something to say? Do not be silent!


Your comment will appear after being moderated.
Spam and off-topic posts are deleted.

To insert php-code, use the tag:
<pre lang="php"> php-code </ pre>


I'm not a spammer!

пройти авторизацию: 

Facebook и экономная технология ARM
UPD

Facebook и экономная технология ARM

Мало кто не слышал о сайте под названием Facebook. Сейчас это — одна из самых популярных в мире социальных сетей. А её создатель, Марк Цукерберг — успешный бизнесмен, ставший миллиардером в 23 года.

Facebook и экономная технология ARM

Возник ресурс не так давно, в 2004 году. Изначально он предназначался только для студентов престижного Гарвардского Университета. На сайте можно было создать свой профиль, разместить на нём фотографию, добавить однокурсников в список друзей и общаться с ними с помощью мгновенных сообщений. Студенты Гарварда разработку Марка оценили, проект получил признание, стимул для дальнейшего развития и, в конечном итоге, мировую известность.

Сейчас компания Цукерберга ведёт строительство нового дата-центра. Расположен он будет в США, штат Орегон. На серверах компании планируется использовать микропроцессоры с архитектурой ARM, а не x86, как было ранее. Это означает, что в скором времени архитектура ARM сможет несколько потеснить x86 на современном рынке серверов. Для таких гигантов, как AMD и Intel, подобное развитие событий чревато многомиллионными убытками.

Поставщиком микропроцессоров станет компания Smooth-Stone. Финансированием её деятельности занимаются, в частности, Arm Holdings и Texas Instruments.

Главное преимущество микропроцессоров с архитектурой ARM — сравнительно небольшое энергопотребление. Видимо, именно поэтому руководство Facebook и решилось на такие перемены. Чтобы сохранить и электроэнергию, и бюджет компании. В противном случае замена технологии x86 микропроцессорами ARM была бы бессмысленной.

А каким образом рядовые блогеры пытаются экономить системные ресурсы серверов? Поделитесь своими идеями и наработками?

Опубликовано:

Чтобы оставить своё мнение, необходимо

пройти авторизацию: